Regional comparison
The UAE against its peers, including where it is behind
The Emirates leads the Gulf on published documentation. On operating plant it does not. This table sets published targets beside verifiable assets for ten producing or aspiring exporters.
Last verified:
Geography
The region's flagship sites
The region's flagship sites
The projects each country leads with, and how far each has got. Only one marker on this map is a plant that produces anything today.
- Operational
- Commissioning
- Under construction
- Announced / pre-FID
- Cancelled / shelved
A marker is a site, not a project. Its shape takes the site's most advanced project status, and the number is how many projects share it. Marker positions are the published coordinates of the site or town each project names, checked at build time against Natural Earth coastlines: a marker on land is on land. Offshore developments are marked as such. Which site a project occupies is sourced in the project tracker; the coordinate is this site's own geographic annotation, for orientation and not a surveyed plant position.
Source: Natural Earth · naturalearthdata.com
10 countries
National positions
Targets are reproduced in the units the source uses. A null means no target has been published, which is itself a finding.
| Country | 2030 target | 2050 target | Strategy document | Verified operating electrolysis | Largest project | Offtakes signed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United Arab Emirates | 1.4 mtpa of low-carbon hydrogen by 2031 (0.5 mtpa green domestic + 0.5 mtpa green foreign + 0.4 mtpa blue + 0.0075 mtpa pink); Full wording1.4 mtpa of low-carbon hydrogen by 2031 (0.5 mtpa green domestic + 0.5 mtpa green foreign + 0.4 mtpa blue + 0.0075 mtpa pink); requires 8.7 GW of electrolysis, 15.3 GW of solar PV and ~94 km² of land by 2031. The u.ae portal summarises the same headline as “1.4 million tons per annum (mtpa) by 2031 (consisting of 1 mtpa of green hydrogen and 0.4 mtpa of blue hydrogen)”. | 14.9 mtpa (strategy PDF, “Diversify Scenario”); the u.ae summary instead states 7.5 mtpa by 2040 and 15 mtpa by 2050. Both are official UAE sources and they do not agree. | National Hydrogen Strategy, Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure, July 2023 — a real, published, quantified document. Gap: the Cabinet approval date could not be verifie… | No verifiable green electrolysis at scale — no verifiable UAE green electrolyser capacity of scale was found installed, under construction, or at FID | TA'ZIZ low-carbon (blue) ammonia, RuwaisUnder construction | First certified commercial low-carbon ammonia cargo in the Gulf: ADNOC → Mitsui, Japan, 15 May 2024. Fertiglobe's H2Global win is Egypt-sourced |
| Saudi Arabia | None | None | No standalone national hydrogen strategy was located. The Ministry of Energy website lists no hydrogen strategy, publication or target; Full wordingNo standalone national hydrogen strategy was located. The Ministry of Energy website lists no hydrogen strategy, publication or target; the IEA Saudi Arabia country page records no hydrogen policy; the IEA Global Hydrogen Review 2025 contains no Saudi national target. Caveat: saudigreeninitiative.org was unreachable, so the widely-circulated “2.9 Mtpa by 2030 / 4 Mtpa by 2035” figures remain unverified by any primary source in this research. | Zero operating. NEOM's 2.2 GW entered commissioning Aug 2026 — not yet producing | NEOM Green Hydrogen CompanyCommissioning | Air Products 30-yr offtake (2023); Yara marketing & distribution agreement finalised 10 Aug 2026, up to 1.2 Mt/y. No price public |
| Oman | 1.0–1.5 Mtpa | 7.5–8.5 Mtpa (2050); the same document gives 3.3–3.8 Mtpa for 2040 | Strategy “announced” Oct 2022; no formal named/dated document located — the targets are carried in Hydrom's Round 3 auction PDF (Apr 2025), which gives no strategy docume… | ~80 MW delivered + 160 MW shipped at ACME Duqm (not a Hydrom block). Nothing operating | Hydrom Round 1/2 auction blocks (8 blocks)Pre-FID | ACME–Yara Clean Ammonia (phase 1, full offtake); LUPRO–MA Corporation binding 5 Mt / $4.5bn / 10 yr |
| Egypt | None | None | Hydrogen incentives law (Apr 2024) verified; national strategy document not verified in this research. Full wordingHydrogen incentives law (Apr 2024) verified; national strategy document not verified in this research. SCZONE publishes no framework agreements, developer names, investment values or project timelines. The incentives source does not give the law number. | 100 MW Egypt Green (partial production since 2023) — the only operating electrolysis in the Gulf/MENA peer set | Project Kemet (Masdar, bp, Hassan Allam, Infinity Power) — $14bn, the largest of ~$37bn of framework agreementsAnnounced | Fertiglobe/H2Global — the only priced offtake in the region: 397,000 t to Rotterdam 2027–33; bid €1,000/t; FOB €811/t; delivered €1,153/t. Full wordingFertiglobe/H2Global — the only priced offtake in the region: 397,000 t to Rotterdam 2027–33; bid €1,000/t; FOB €811/t; delivered €1,153/t. Scatec and Fertiglobe also signed a 20-year hydrogen offtake agreement |
| Qatar | None | None | No national hydrogen strategy was located. Searches across offshore-energy.biz and pv-magazine returned no strategy document, no production target and no issuing body; Full wordingNo national hydrogen strategy was located. Searches across offshore-energy.biz and pv-magazine returned no strategy document, no production target and no issuing body; Ammonia Energy has no Qatari strategy coverage. The hydrogen activity located is one corporate project. | Zero (project is blue/CCS, no electrolysers) | Ammonia-7 (QatarEnergy + QAFCO), Mesaieed Industrial CityUnder construction | none disclosed |
| Kuwait | None | 17 GW renewables + 25 GW green H₂ by 2050 — a KBR consultancy scope for Kuwait Oil Company, not a government strategy | No strategy document was located. The only substance is an 18-month KBR masterplan advisory awarded July 2024 by Kuwait Oil Company — a state oil company, not a governmen… Full wordingNo strategy document was located. The only substance is an 18-month KBR masterplan advisory awarded July 2024 by Kuwait Oil Company — a state oil company, not a government; the source gives no strategy document name and no interim dates. | Zero | None identified | none disclosed |
| Bahrain | None | None | No strategy, no projects and no electrolysers were located. The Ammonia Energy Association search returns “Sorry, couldn't find anything for 'Bahrain'”; Full wordingNo strategy, no projects and no electrolysers were located. The Ammonia Energy Association search returns “Sorry, couldn't find anything for 'Bahrain'”; an offshore-energy.biz search returned ten nominal results, none substantively about Bahraini hydrogen. No Bahraini hydrogen strategy, project or electrolyser was located. | Zero | None | none disclosed |
| Morocco | None | None | “Offre Maroc” — a steering committee led by Prime Minister Aziz Akhannouch, launched 2022; a land-allocation framework, not a production-target strategy. Full wording“Offre Maroc” — a steering committee led by Prime Minister Aziz Akhannouch, launched 2022; a land-allocation framework, not a production-target strategy. Morocco has no verified national hydrogen production target, so it cannot meaningfully be compared on a 2030/2050 target basis. | Zero | ORNX (Ortus/Acciona/Nordex), near LaayounePre-FID | none disclosed — none binding identified |
| Australia | 500,000 tonnes of green hydrogen a year by 2030 (stretch target 1.5 million tonnes by 2030) | 15 million tonnes a year by 2050 (stretch target 30 million tonnes by 2050) | National Hydrogen Strategy 2024, released 16 September 2024 by Federal Climate Change and Energy Minister Chris Bowen, replacing the 2019 COAG Energy Council strategy. Full wordingNational Hydrogen Strategy 2024, released 16 September 2024 by Federal Climate Change and Energy Minister Chris Bowen, replacing the 2019 COAG Energy Council strategy. Note: dcceew.gov.au blocked all fetch attempts, so the targets are sourced to trade press reporting the minister's release rather than to the document itself. | GEGHA 15 MW under construction; nothing at scale operating | Murchison Green HydrogenPre-FID | GEGHA internal (Sundown Pastoral); Orica internal feedstock displacement |
| Chile | “Producir el hidrógeno verde más barato del planeta para 2030” (cheapest green hydrogen on the planet by 2030); Full wording“Producir el hidrógeno verde más barato del planeta para 2030” (cheapest green hydrogen on the planet by 2030); “Contar con 5 GW de capacidad de electrólisis en desarrollo al 2025” (5 GW of electrolysis capacity in development by 2025) | None | Estrategia Nacional de Hidrógeno Verde, Government of Chile, presented by Energy Minister Juan Carlos Jobet on 3 November 2020. Full wordingEstrategia Nacional de Hidrógeno Verde, Government of Chile, presented by Energy Minister Juan Carlos Jobet on 3 November 2020. Its three objectives are: cheapest green hydrogen on the planet by 2030; among the top 3 exporters by 2040; 5 GW of electrolysis capacity in development by 2025 — positional, not volumetric, and no 2050 target. Gap: energia.gob.cl returned HTTP 403 on every attempt, so the strategy PDF and the Plan de Acción Hidrógeno Verde 2023-2030 could not be verified directly. The IEA Global Hydrogen Review 2025 explicitly flags missed targets by Chile. | Colbún Nehuenco unit operational (Oct 2025); Enaex HyEx pilot 57 t/d. H2Chile: 17 of 83 announced projects operational (Dec 2025) | HNH Energy, MagallanesPre-FID | None — AEA (May 2026): “Demand signals combined with firm offtake is required to advance projects” |
This table scrolls horizontally to reveal further columns.
Source: United Arab Emirates — UAE Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure · assets.u.ae
Source: Saudi Arabia — Saudi Ministry of Energy · moenergy.gov.sa
Source: Oman — Hydrom · hydrom.om
Source: Egypt — Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org · 25 February 2026
Source: Qatar — Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org · 12 December 2024
Source: Kuwait — offshore-energy.biz · offshore-energy.biz · 19 July 2024
Source: Bahrain — Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
Source: Morocco — Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org · 18 March 2025
Source: Australia — pv magazine Australia · pv-magazine-australia.com · 16 September 2024
Source: Chile — pv magazine Latam · pv-magazine-latam.com · 3 November 2020
Targets
Who has published a tonnage target at all
Published 2030 production targets
Seven of the ten countries compared here have published no tonnage target at all — including Saudi Arabia, which has no standalone national hydrogen strategy. An absent bar is a finding, not missing data.
- Oman (upper bound)1.0–1.5Mt/yr
- UAE (2031, not 2030)1.4Mt/yr
- Australia (stretch 1.5)0.5Mt/yr
Data table
| Country | Mt/yr |
|---|---|
| Oman (upper bound) | 1.0–1.5 |
| UAE (2031, not 2030) | 1.4 |
| Australia (stretch 1.5) | 0.5 |
| Saudi Arabia | None published |
| Egypt | None published |
| Qatar | None published |
| Kuwait | None published |
| Bahrain | None published |
| Morocco | None published |
| Chile | None published |
Source: Hydrom, Green Hydrogen Auction Round 3 (Oman) · hydrom.om · Retrieved 26 August 2026
Source: UAE Government — National Hydrogen Strategy · u.ae · Retrieved 26 August 2026
Source: Australian Government — National Hydrogen Strategy 2024 · dcceew.gov.au · Retrieved 26 August 2026
No published target
Seven of the ten have published no tonnage production target. That is not missing data; the absence is itself sourced.
- Saudi Arabia
- Egypt
- Qatar
- Kuwait
- Bahrain
- Morocco
- Chile
Saudi Arabia is among them: its Ministry of Energy site lists no hydrogen strategy or target, and the IEA country page records no hydrogen policy.
Attrition
From announcement to construction
Regional projects by status (37)
Counted by project from the table below. Announced capacity is not summed across cancelled, shelved and pre-FID projects, because the resulting number describes nothing.
- Operating or commissioning3projects
- Under construction or at FID4projects
- Announced or pre-FID27projects
- Cancelled or shelved3projects
Data table
| Status | Projects |
|---|---|
| Operating or commissioning | 3 |
| Under construction or at FID | 4 |
| Announced or pre-FID | 27 |
| Cancelled or shelved | 3 |
Method: Counted by gh2.ae over the regional project table on this page; each project carries its own source there.
The UAE is the only Gulf state with a published, quantified national hydrogen strategy. The Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure document of July 2023 sets 1.4 mtpa of low-carbon hydrogen by 2031 and attaches infrastructure requirements of 8.7 GW of electrolysis, 15.3 GW of solar PV and about 94 km² of land. Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait and Bahrain publish no national hydrogen strategy; Oman publishes targets but no locatable strategy document; Morocco publishes a land-allocation offer with no production target.
Source: UAE Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure · assets.u.ae
Two official UAE sources disagree on the long-term target: the u.ae portal summarises “1.4 million tons per annum (mtpa) by 2031 (consisting of 1 mtpa of green hydrogen and 0.4 mtpa of blue hydrogen)”, “7.5 mtpa by 2040” and “15 mtpa by 2050”, while the strategy PDF gives 14.9 mtpa by 2050 under a named “Diversify Scenario”.
Source: UAE Government portal (u.ae) · u.ae
37 entries
Flagship projects across the region
Sorted by status. Cancellations and delays are included, because a list of announcements is not a picture of a market.
| Project | Country | Status | Capacity | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colbún Nehuenco green hydrogen unit | CL | Operational | not disclosed (solar-powered green hydrogen unit at the Nehuenco thermoelectric complex) | Commissioned and operational — part of the only comparator set with meaningfully operating assets. | pv-magazine.com |
| Enaex HyEx pilot | CL | Operational | 57 t/d | Operating pilot; one of 17 operational Chilean hydrogen projects out of 83 announced (H2Chile, Dec 2025). | ammoniaenergy.org |
| NEOM Green Hydrogen Company | SA | Commissioning | 2.2 GW electrolysis; up to 600 t/d carbon-free hydrogen; up to 1.2 Mt/y green ammonia; 4 GW renewables (2.2 GW solar + 1.6 GW wind); >300 km² at Oxagon; $8.4bn | Financial close 30 May 2023 — the only large green hydrogen FID in the Gulf. Construction 80% complete (2 Jun 2025), 90% as of 26 Mar 2026; Full wordingFinancial close 30 May 2023 — the only large green hydrogen FID in the Gulf. Construction 80% complete (2 Jun 2025), 90% as of 26 Mar 2026; commissioning of the 2.2 GW project reported begun 14 Aug 2026. DELAY: NGHC's own site carries both the legacy line “Producing up to 600 tonnes of carbon-free hydrogen daily by the end of 2026” and the current line “expected product availability in 2027” — first product has moved from end-2026 to 2027. No cost change reported; $8.4bn still cited as of Jun 2025. | pv-magazine.com |
| ACME Duqm green hydrogen and ammonia project | OM | Under construction | Phase 1: 100,000 t/y ammonia. Electrolysers: 80 MW delivered (sixteen units, Shuangliang Group); 160 MW of alkaline units shipped by Sungrow Hydrogen, with the same article stating Shuangliang “also supplied 160 MW” | The only Omani steel in the ground, and it sits outside the Hydrom auction system — it predates the rounds and sits in the Duqm SEZ. Nothing is operating. Full wordingThe only Omani steel in the ground, and it sits outside the Hydrom auction system — it predates the rounds and sits in the Duqm SEZ. Nothing is operating. TUV Rheinland pre-certification obtained; first deliveries anticipated 2027; Yara Clean Ammonia has secured full phase 1 offtake. The report notes the two Ammonia Energy articles two weeks apart are inconsistent on the Shuangliang figure (80 MW delivered vs 160 MW supplied) and reports both verbatim; no stated FID date is recorded. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Ammonia-7 | QA | Under construction | 1.2 Mtpa blue ammonia — “the largest of its kind in the world”; $1.2bn; a CO₂ liquefaction, injection and sequestration unit of 1.5 Mt/y; and a 35 MW solar PV plant | Foundation stone laid 27 Nov 2024. Zero electrolysers — this is CCS-based blue ammonia and the 35 MW of solar powers the plant, it does not make hydrogen. Full wordingFoundation stone laid 27 Nov 2024. Zero electrolysers — this is CCS-based blue ammonia and the 35 MW of solar powers the plant, it does not make hydrogen. Start-up was stated as “expected mid-2026” but no source confirms start-up and no 2025–2026 progress reporting was found at all — QatarEnergy has published no update since the foundation-stone release of 27 November 2024. No offtake disclosed. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Good Earth Green Hydrogen and Ammonia (GEGHA), Moree NSW | AU | Under construction | 15 MW electrolyser; 4,500 t/y ammonia (16 t/d) | FID 23 Jul 2025; construction under way as of 31 May 2026; production from 2027; offtake internal to Sundown Pastoral Company. Full wordingFID 23 Jul 2025; construction under way as of 31 May 2026; production from 2027; offtake internal to Sundown Pastoral Company. One of only two Australian FIDs, against a 500,000 t/y 2030 target. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Orica Hunter Valley Hydrogen Hub | AU | FID taken | 50 MW electrolyser; 4,700 t/y hydrogen; 26,600 t/y low-carbon ammonia; capex AU$245–283m across 2026–2029 | FID taken 3 Jul 2026; first production early 2029; offtake is internal feedstock displacement. Full wordingFID taken 3 Jul 2026; first production early 2029; offtake is internal feedstock displacement. Combined, Australia's two FIDs total 65 MW and ~31,000 t/y of ammonia — against a 500,000 t/y green hydrogen target for 2030. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| ACWA Power Yanbu Green Hydrogen Hub | SA | Pre-FID | 4 GW electrolysis; 400,000 t/y hydrogen; >2.2 Mt/y ammonia — “twice the size of the under-construction NEOM project” | FEED by Técnicas Reunidas and Sinopec Guangzhou Engineering, completion mid-2026; commercial operations planned 2030. Full wordingFEED by Técnicas Reunidas and Sinopec Guangzhou Engineering, completion mid-2026; commercial operations planned 2030. Its only offtake arrangement is an explicitly non-binding MoU with EnBW, Rostock Port and VNG. ACWA Power signed 27 MoUs at a single three-day event at a Ministry of Energy event (3 Feb 2026). | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Hydrom Round 1 (Duqm) and Round 2 (Salalah/Dhofar) auction blocks | OM | Pre-FID | 8 blocks; “over $49 billion in investment commitments targeting a combined production capacity of over 1 million tons per annum of green hydrogen by 2030”, powered by more than 30 GW of renewables | not one of the eight Hydrom auction blocks has reached FID. An offshore-energy.biz search for “Duqm hydrogen final investment decision” returns 0 results. Full wordingnot one of the eight Hydrom auction blocks has reached FID. An offshore-energy.biz search for “Duqm hydrogen final investment decision” returns 0 results. Three years after Round 1 signings, the $49bn of investment commitments announced has produced no financed project. Hydrom's release of 2 May 2024 states 1.38 mtpa by 2030 from Round 2. | omanobserver.om |
| HYPORT Duqm | OM | Pre-FID | >50 ktpa H₂ by 2029 (phase 1); 150 km²; phase 1 1.3 GW rising to >2.7 GW | bp agreed to take 49% of HYPORT Duqm and act as operator. The cited article reports that bp took FID on Castellón (Spain), not on Oman. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Egypt Green Hydrogen (Ain Sokhna) | EG | Pre-FID | 100 MW electrolyser; up to 74,000 t/y renewable ammonia | A demonstration unit began partial production in 2023 — the only operating electrolysis in the Gulf/MENA peer set — but the project itself remains pre-FID. Full wordingA demonstration unit began partial production in 2023 — the only operating electrolysis in the Gulf/MENA peer set — but the project itself remains pre-FID. A €35m EU grant managed by the EIB was awarded, with “FID expected in the coming months” as of 25 Feb 2026; the same “coming months” language appeared in both January and February 2026. Hydrogen is piped to Fertiglobe's existing conventional EBIC ammonia plant. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| ORNX (near Laayoune) | MA | Pre-FID | $4.5bn; 2 GW wind & solar; 900 MW electrolysers; phase 1 100,000 t/y hydrogen and 560,000 t/y ammonia | Signed an agreement with the Moroccan government to secure land on 6 Feb 2026 — a land allocation, not an FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| TAQA Morocco + Moeve (Dhakla region / Port of Jorf Lasfar) | MA | Pre-FID | not disclosed | A preliminary land reservation agreement signed 5 Feb 2026 — the second most advanced Moroccan project, and still pre-FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Murchison Green Hydrogen | AU | Pre-FID | 1.8 Mt/y renewable ammonia; 6 GW onshore wind and solar; AU$814m in production credits | Australia's largest project and the first Hydrogen Headstart award — still pre-FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Australian Renewable Energy Hub (AREH) | AU | Pre-FID | 26 GW | bp backed out of the 26 GW green hydrogen plan (pv magazine, 28 Jul 2025 — https://www.pv-magazine.com/2025/07/28/bp-backs-out-of-26-gw-green-hydrogen-plan-in-australia/)… Full wordingbp backed out of the 26 GW green hydrogen plan (pv magazine, 28 Jul 2025 — https://www.pv-magazine.com/2025/07/28/bp-backs-out-of-26-gw-green-hydrogen-plan-in-australia/). InterContinental Energy assumed full responsibility and secured AU$21m from ARENA to continue engineering and commercial analysis — with no FID date specified. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| HNH Energy (Magallanes) | CL | Pre-FID | $11bn; phase 1 1.3 Mt/y ammonia from 270,000 t/y hydrogen; 1.4 GW onshore wind (194 turbines) phase 1, plus 2.1 GW phase 2; desalination; 180,000 t interim storage across three tanks; multi-purpose port | Phase 1 EIS submitted Aug 2024 with approval expected late 2025; phase 2 EIS early 2026; FID slated 2026; construction H1 2027; operations H2 2030. Full wordingPhase 1 EIS submitted Aug 2024 with approval expected late 2025; phase 2 EIS early 2026; FID slated 2026; construction H1 2027; operations H2 2030. CIP and partners acquire all equity at FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| MAE Project Volta (Mejillones) | CL | Pre-FID | 600,000 t/y across two ~300,000 t phases; ~700 MW PEM total, 600 MW solar PV in phase 1; $2.5bn | Became “the first commercial-scale renewable ammonia project to complete Chile's environmental permitting process” (Dec 2025). Construction starts 2028, production 2030. Full wordingBecame “the first commercial-scale renewable ammonia project to complete Chile's environmental permitting process” (Dec 2025). Construction starts 2028, production 2030. No offtake — the article states plainly: “Demand signals combined with firm offtake is required to advance projects”. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Hydrom Green Hydrogen Auction Round 3 (Duqm, Zone 1) | OM | Delayed | up to 300 km² in Duqm, minimum bid 100 km², 47-year land award | launched 30 Apr 2025 with a timeline of RFQ submission 15 Dec 2025, final bids 31 Jan 2026 and award announcement Q2 2026. Full wordinglaunched 30 Apr 2025 with a timeline of RFQ submission 15 Dec 2025, final bids 31 Jan 2026 and award announcement Q2 2026. No Round 3 award has been announced as of 26 August 2026; Hydrom's press-release page carries no 2026 releases whatsoever, the most recent being 30 Apr 2025, and no award coverage was found on offshore-energy.biz or Ammonia Energy. | omanobserver.om |
| LUPRO Oman renewable ammonia project | OM | Announced | 5 GW+; 8.4 million m²; 5 million tonnes of renewable ammonia 2027–2032; $4.5bn over 10 years | A binding long-term tripartite production, supply and sales agreement — but the underlying project has no reported FID: the offtake is binding; Full wordingA binding long-term tripartite production, supply and sales agreement — but the underlying project has no reported FID: the offtake is binding; the underlying project has no reported FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Project Kemet | EG | Announced | $14bn; multi-phase | Joint development agreement announced at the Egypt–EU Investment Conference as part of roughly $37bn of ammonia investment. Full wordingJoint development agreement announced at the Egypt–EU Investment Conference as part of roughly $37bn of ammonia investment. not one of these framework agreements has reached FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Project Ra (East Port Said) | EG | Announced | $11bn; multi-Mt/y; 85% of capacity claimed covered by marine-fuel offtake; production “late 2028” | Framework agreement only; no FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Ocior Energy (Ain Sokhna) | EG | Announced | $4.25bn; 1 Mt/y NH₃; 100,000 t/y from 2027 | Framework agreement only; no FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Voltalia + TAQA Arabia green hydrogen project | EG | Announced | $3.46bn; 1.3 GW wind/solar + 500 MW electrolysis in two phases | Framework agreement only; no FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| DEME (Port of Gargoub) | EG | Announced | $2.76bn initial / €24bn total; phase 1 ~320,000 t/y NH₃ | Announced value only; no FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| EDF Renewables + Zero Waste (Ras Shukeir) | EG | Announced | $1.8bn phase 1 / €7bn total; phase 1 1 Mt/y NH₃ | Announced value only; no FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Damietta green ammonia project | EG | Announced | $0.9bn; 480 MW RE, 240 MW electrolysis, 150,000 t/y NH₃ | Yara Clean Ammonia is named as offtaker “once the project has reached a final investment decision” — which it has not. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| ACWA Power Egypt green ammonia project | EG | Announced | 600,000 t/y green ammonia; $4bn+ | Framework agreement only; no FID. | offshore-energy.biz |
| Hynfra Ras Banas project | EG | Announced | 2 GW; 100 km²; phase 1 400,000 t/y from 2031, up to 1 Mt/y; ~$5bn initial / $10bn full | Still only in “discussions with the Egyptian government” as of 4 May 2026; first production not claimed before 2031. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Kuwait Oil Company renewables and hydrogen masterplan (KBR advisory) | KW | Announced | 17 GW of renewables and 25 GW of green hydrogen by 2050 (consultancy scope, not an adopted national target) | An 18-month advisory engagement awarded July 2024 to produce a masterplan with “a phased strategy for the deployment of wind and solar power, combined with power storage … Full wordingAn 18-month advisory engagement awarded July 2024 to produce a masterplan with “a phased strategy for the deployment of wind and solar power, combined with power storage capability”. The issuing body is a state oil company, not a government; no strategy document name and no interim dates are given. Kuwait has no projects, no electrolysers and no offtakes identified. | offshore-energy.biz |
| Offre Maroc round 1 awards | MA | Announced | 6 projects selected from 40 proposals representing 17 countries, totalling $30bn across five investment consortiums; land allocation of up to 30,000 hectares per project | the entire $30bn is at land-reservation stage; no Moroccan project has reached FID and no Moroccan electrolyser capacity is verifiably installed. Full wordingthe entire $30bn is at land-reservation stage; no Moroccan project has reached FID and no Moroccan electrolyser capacity is verifiably installed. Offre Maroc allocates land and incentives without a published tonnage goal. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| OCP “Project Dhakla” | MA | Announced | 1 Mt/y | Announced only; no FID recorded. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Gente Grande (Magallanes maritime concession) | CL | Announced | 3 GW; $8bn | Maritime concession awarded January 2025; pre-FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Llaquedona (Magallanes maritime concession) | CL | Announced | 800,000 t/y; 1.7 GW wind; 1.5 GW electrolysers | Maritime concession awarded January 2025; pre-FID. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| ADNOC Al Ruwais port infrastructure for ammonia export | AE | Announced | $2bn, including dedicated chemical terminals for CCS-based ammonia exports beginning 2027 | Funded export infrastructure supporting the UAE's blue ammonia programme. Note: the report names TA'ZIZ low-carbon (blue) ammonia at Ruwais — TA'ZIZ, Fertiglobe, Mitsui a… Full wordingFunded export infrastructure supporting the UAE's blue ammonia programme. Note: the report names TA'ZIZ low-carbon (blue) ammonia at Ruwais — TA'ZIZ, Fertiglobe, Mitsui and GS Energy agreed to commence construction on 25 Jun 2024 — as the UAE's flagship, but attaches no URL to that claim, so it is carried in the country row rather than as a separately sourced project entry here. | ammoniaenergy.org |
| Trafigura Australian green hydrogen plant | AU | Cancelled | $471.2m | Scrapped after completing a feasibility study. | pv-magazine.com |
| Whyalla hydrogen plant (South Australia) | AU | Cancelled | A$593m | Approved November 2024 and scrapped in early 2025. Sourced only to Wikipedia's “Hydrogen economy” article — a secondary source, flagged as such in the report and not inde… Full wordingApproved November 2024 and scrapped in early 2025. Sourced only to Wikipedia's “Hydrogen economy” article — a secondary source, flagged as such in the report and not independently verified. | en.wikipedia.org |
| Queensland “world's largest hydrogen plant” | AU | Cancelled | not disclosed | Announced October 2021 and scrapped in 2025. Sourced only to Wikipedia's “Hydrogen economy” article — a secondary source, flagged as such in the report and not independen… Full wordingAnnounced October 2021 and scrapped in 2025. Sourced only to Wikipedia's “Hydrogen economy” article — a secondary source, flagged as such in the report and not independently verified. | en.wikipedia.org |
This table scrolls horizontally to reveal further columns.
Assessment
Where the UAE stands
Each card is gh2.ae's reading of the source cited beneath it, not a quotation from that source.
The UAE is the only Gulf state with a published, quantified national hydrogen strategy. The Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure document of July 2023 sets 1.4 mtpa of low-carbon hydrogen by 2031 and attaches infrastructure requirements of 8.7 GW of electrolysis, 15.3 GW of solar PV and about 94 km² of land. Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait and Bahrain publish no national hydrogen strategy; Oman publishes targets but no locatable strategy document; Morocco publishes a land-allocation offer with no production target.
Source: UAE Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure · assets.u.ae
Two official UAE sources disagree on the long-term target: the u.ae portal summarises “1.4 million tons per annum (mtpa) by 2031 (consisting of 1 mtpa of green hydrogen and 0.4 mtpa of blue hydrogen)”, “7.5 mtpa by 2040” and “15 mtpa by 2050”, while the strategy PDF gives 14.9 mtpa by 2050 under a named “Diversify Scenario”.
Source: UAE Government portal (u.ae) · u.ae
The UAE is the only Gulf country to have delivered certified product — ADNOC delivered “the first certified bulk commercial shipment of low-carbon ammonia enabled by carbon capture and storage” to Mitsui in Japan on 15 May 2024 — whereas Saudi Arabia's 2020 Aramco cargo was 40 tonnes, a demonstration and explicitly uncertified, and Qatar has shipped nothing.
Source: offshore-energy.biz · offshore-energy.biz
The UAE's export infrastructure is funded: ADNOC committed $2bn to Al Ruwais port infrastructure including dedicated chemical terminals for CCS-based ammonia exports beginning 2027.
Source: Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
Abu Dhabi has a regulatory framework that its Gulf peers lack: the Department of Energy's low-carbon hydrogen policy and regulatory framework, announced 22 August 2022, covers policies, regulations, standards and certifications and was developed with ADNOC, Mubadala, Masdar, ADQ, TAQA, EWEC and Abu Dhabi Ports.
Source: Abu Dhabi Media Office · mediaoffice.abudhabi
On green electrolysis physically in the ground the UAE is behind both Saudi Arabia, whose 2.2 GW NEOM plant entered commissioning in August 2026, and Oman, where 80–160 MW of electrolysers have been delivered and shipped to ACME Duqm. No UAE green electrolyser capacity of scale was found installed, under construction or at FID. The UAE projects that have reached construction or FID are blue.
Source: pv magazine · pv-magazine.com
The strategy requires 8.7 GW of electrolysis by 2031 to deliver 1 mtpa of green hydrogen. With roughly five years left, no UAE green electrolysis project is verifiably under construction or at FID, and the 2 GW Fertiglobe/Masdar/ENGIE green ammonia ambition announced in January 2022 has produced no investment decision. Saudi Arabia publishes no comparable national target, so the two countries cannot be compared on delivery against target.
Source: UAE Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure · assets.u.ae
Oman allocates hydrogen capacity through published competitive rounds and the UAE does not. Hydrom has run three auction rounds, awarded eight blocks on 47-year terms and booked “over $49 billion in investment commitments targeting a combined production capacity of over 1 million tons per annum of green hydrogen by 2030” across more than 30 GW of renewables. UAE capacity has been allocated through bilateral agreements between state entities — ADNOC, Masdar and TA'ZIZ — and no UAE auction or land-allocation round has been announced.
Source: Oman Observer · omanobserver.om
Morocco also has allocation machinery the UAE lacks: Offre Maroc selected six projects from 40 proposals representing 17 countries, totalling $30bn across five consortiums, with land allocation of up to 30,000 hectares per project.
Source: Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
The UAE is behind Australia on demand-side policy: Australia has a legislated AU$2/kg hydrogen production tax incentive covering hydrogen produced between 2027-28 and 2039-40 for up to ten years per project, which passed the Senate in February 2025, while the UAE has no published production subsidy and no production tax credit identified in this research.
Source: Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
The UAE is behind Australia on certification: Australia's Guarantee of Origin scheme went live on 3 November 2025 under the Clean Energy Regulator, starting with electrolytic hydrogen and expanding to ammonia, and no equivalent UAE national certification scheme was identified.
Source: Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
The only priced green ammonia offtake in the region — Fertiglobe's H2Global pilot-auction win of 397,000 t of renewable ammonia to the Port of Rotterdam for 2027–2033 at a winning bid of €1,000/t (€397m total) — is supplied from an Egyptian asset, not a UAE one: the UAE owns the winning company, Egypt owns the molecules, and the UAE has no equivalent priced offtake from a UAE asset.
Source: Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
The UAE is behind Chile on operating assets: H2Chile records 17 of 83 announced Chilean hydrogen projects as operational as of December 2025, including a commissioned Colbún electrolysis unit and Enaex's 57 t/d HyEx pilot, while the UAE has no comparable operating green hydrogen fleet, however small.
Source: H2Chile · h2chile.cl
Across all nine countries there is exactly one large green hydrogen FID in the Gulf — NEOM, which reached financial close on 30 May 2023 with a 30-year offtake — and everything else physically being built in the Gulf, Qatar's Ammonia-7 and the UAE's TA'ZIZ, is blue rather than green.
Source: Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
Oman's $49bn across eight blocks, Egypt's roughly $37bn of framework agreements and Morocco's $30bn have collectively produced zero FIDs — the announced-value league table the UAE is measured against is not a delivery league table.
Source: Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
The Hydrogen Council's Global Hydrogen Compass (8 Sep 2025) reports regional committed investment of $33bn in China, $23bn in North America and $19bn in Europe and gives no Middle East figure at all — which is itself the finding.
Source: Ammonia Energy Association · ammoniaenergy.org
The comparison sits inside a contracting global pipeline: the IEA's Global Hydrogen Review 2025 records global installed water electrolysis capacity at 2 GW in 2024 and the first-ever decline in announced 2030 low-emissions hydrogen potential, from 49 Mt/y to 37 Mt/y, with electrolysis projects “responsible for more than 80% of the total drop”.
Source: IEA · iea.org
Wood Mackenzie called 2026 a “year of reckoning for the hydrogen sector” and predicts at least three large-scale Middle East projects will be cancelled or significantly scaled back during 2026, driven by European policy delays — exposure the UAE's announced-but-unfinanced green pipeline shares with its peers.
Source: pv magazine · pv-magazine.com
Saudi Arabia publishes no national hydrogen target: the Ministry of Energy website lists no hydrogen strategy, publication or target, and the IEA's Saudi country page records no hydrogen policy. It hosts the region's only large green hydrogen project at FID. The two countries therefore cannot be compared on target against delivery.
Source: IEA · iea.org